see also our Interview 

Luna in Caelo
Aqvellos Desgarradores Gritos Llamados Silencio 
(those tearing screams called silence)
~reviewed by Jezebel

In 1993 historian Alejandra Araya and designer Daniel Davilla formed the artistic project called Luna in Caelo. A year later with the edition of Enrique Stindt and Philippe Boissier, the band played the Santiago, Chile underground scene. 

The group is not just a musical group, but use literary and visual means to achieve their artistic success. A manifesto given at one of their concerts explains their “neo-expressionists” position:

“Neo-expressions. Despaired, angry, sad, and anguish, shouting from the guts, looking into a dark and confusing interior, exploring the ‘expression’ as a way to set the soul free, interior need, that’s the scream of the soul, universal expression of the pain, our new expression.”

It’s a tall order. 

This, their first album, (they have since recorded a second, Miedo A Morir (fear to die) with a different line-up) is an interesting mix of sounds. After the mesmerizing and seductive tones of air in track one, Pena (doubt), we given a danceable beat in Conciencia (concience). 

Very Dead Can Dance, very Changelings, very Black Tape for a Blue Girl. Perhaps some Rhea’s Obsession placed well in there. The voice of Alejandra does have a Siousxie like quality to it, that passionate, drawling softness. I especially am impressed by the guitar work of Philippe Boissier, who brings a plaintive -, yet strong wail to the entire mixture. The bass of Enrique Stindt is a good supportive sound, sometimes taking the lead in songs, but usually being the background sound that pushes along the rest. Enrique Stindt’s drum playing is solid and finishes off the sound.

I like this album. I enjoy this album as excellent background noise as I work at the computer for hours writing reviews. But I don’t love this album. I don’t find it inspirational, I don’t find it particularly uplifting, nor an evolvement of music from the artists mentioned above. It’s interesting. It’s quality. But it’s not brilliant.

And it doesn’t live up to the packaging. Some bands, (Mission, Killing Miranda for instance) you get what you see on the label. This doesn’t.

“Luna in Caelo deals with the feelings, the fears, the dreams, the pain of the individual, it’s the representations of the sensations and the states of the human soul. And, above all, of those situations in which we all try to hide. Travelling towards out inner selves can be turbulent, painful and dark, but that landscape, that destiny, is infinite and majestic. Luna in Caelo hurts, frightens, bewilders, but at the same time, sets free." A taller order than their manifesto…and unfortunately – doesn’t measure up as well as it could/should. It is not the language difference. I tried that angle. The music is good. It’s just not good enough to live up to what has been promised.

Track Listing:
1) Duda (doubt)
2) Pena (sorrow)
3) Conciencia (concience)
4) A-dios (god-bye)
5) Susurro (whisper)
6) Locus
7) Tormento (torment)
8) Encierro (confinement)
9) Trapecio (trapeze)
10) Sombra (shadow)
11) Lluuia (rain)
12) Plural (plural)
13) Cercos (siege)

Luna in Caelo is:
Alejandra Araya – voice
Daniel Davila – guitars
Enrique Stindt – drums
Philippe Boissier – bass

Palace of Worms